Home News & Update English Will EEMA get a fractured NEC or a NEC with majority?

News & Update

Will EEMA get a fractured NEC or a NEC with majority?


Last moment campaigns revealed that this election has been contested by a faction of like-minded candidates against Sabbas’s (Wizcraft) panel. Sabbas’s panel could not contest for all the positions. This panel faced problems when nominations of Ankur Kalra for Treasurer’s post, nomination for VP East were rejected and Harshad Chavan withdrew his candidature for the post of Jt. Sec. West. Final panel that contested elections consisted of Rajeev Jain for President Post, Samit Garg for EVP post, Vijay Arora as VP North, Aarti Matoo as VP West and Martin as VP South. Of this Martin and Aarti were fresh faces.

Contesting against this panel were Roshan Abbas for President Post, Sagar as EVP, Jindi as GS, Vipul as VP North, Harshal as VP West, Arun as VP South. KJ Gurna has already been declared uncontested for the position of Treasurer and Deepak Pawar as Secretary.

East zone leadership will be nominated by the new NEC as nominations were rejected. Two like-minded candidates KJ Gurna and Deepak Pawar have already re-entered the NEC out of the total 9 NEC members. For a majority in NEC, five like-minded elected members are required but with no candidates elected for VP East position, NEC will be of 8, so majority will be formed with just 4 NEC members as President has only a casting vote. Therefore, out of five like-minded candidates even if 2 of them win then, the NEC will have a majority as 2 have already been declared winners.

If all 4 candidates of Sabbas’s panel win only then will they enjoy a majority. Chances of all 4 Sabbas’s candidates winning is very less. But then in elections you never know till the results are out. In any given situation, the key to success of the NEC will depend on the President. It will depend only on the President how he leads the NEC. Fractured or united, it will be the President who will lead the NEC by taking decisions on majority opinion basis by winning the trust and confidence of all NEC members.

Have members voted for a coalition NEC or NEC with clear majority? We will come to know by tomorrow 5 PM when the results are announced. Till now the voting process has been smooth without any complains, as one of the best voting platform in the world has been hired. Elections observers Mr. Nishit Shah, Taranbir Sahni, Harish Babu and Karan Chetri who are EEMA members worked tirelessly to overcome all hurdles under CEC Hon'ble Lt. Gen. (Retd) Milan Lalitkumar Naidu (PVSM, AVSM, YSM) and ensured that the election process reached the voting day.

Entire event industry is keenly waiting to know the outcome tomorrow. As per our assessment, EEMA will have a majority based NEC of like-minded winners.

Editor’s Note:
Share your press releases, upcoming events and event industry related news on editorial@eventaa.com to publish it on eventaa.com.

Write Comment

Comment via Facebook   Comment via Google+

Be the first to Write Comment
Note: Your comment will be posted on www.eventaa.com website, subject to conditions:
  • eventaa reserves the right to refuse and remove any comment.
  • eventaa will not be held responsible or accept any liability of comments posted for any business.

Share Via




Connect with us